Bearly-Believe-It

[Picture of Evil Build-a-Bear] I WAS IN A BUILD-A-BEAR SHOP RECENTLY, AND WAS GIVEN A FEW SURPRISES.

The first one to take my notice was a Build-a-Bear version of the evil genius, Darth Vader from Star Wars! Now I am not quite sure what it would mean for a child to select this bear from the others on offer. I may be an old fuddy-duddy, perhaps these days playing with the baddies is fashionable or popular.

Picture of a Wheelchair for a teddy bear]I then noticed that you could get your Build-a-Bear disabled! Yes; they do wheelchairs for the bears.

They also do spectacles and much more. It really is a revelation; I thought it was simply a shop that made and sold teddy bears and accessories.  Who knew?

It could be argued that a disabled child might like to have toys that were also disabled, but I am not so sure.[Picture of a teddy bear earing spectacles] I am not entirely convinced that able-bodied children would like to play with disabled toys, and if they were, it would certainly raise my eyebrows as much as if they wanted to cuddle up at night with Darth Vader. Call me old-fashioned, but I think things are still getting worse.

 

 

Leave a Reply

