Greek Island of Theate

[Picture of sign in Travel Agents]IN A LOCAL TRAVEL AGENT’S WINDOW, I SPOTTED THIS ITEM.

Click on picture to enlarge.

It is headed:

THEATE BREAK

Now, there are many exotic destination in travel agent’s window that I have never heard of, so I just assumed that Theate was one of them. Possibly one of the Greek Islands?

It was only when I saw that it involved a musical in the Playhouse in Edinburgh that I realised that they had not proof-read the sign before putting it on public display in the shop window. It clearly ought to have been “Theatre” not “Theate”.

I wonder how many people scanned over Theate, and thought, like me, it was somewhere exotic and foreign – perhaps they were looking for a cheap UK break. Can a spelling error be more costly? I wonder.

Leave a Reply

